Contact Information

 0303 123 1702

Allerdale Borough Council,
Allerdale House,
CA14 3YJ

This page has been tagged with the following keywords (What's this?)

news release


Five candidates to contest PCC election in May

7 April 2016

Five candidates will be standing for election in the Cumbria Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) election on 5 May 2016.

The Statement of Persons Nominated has been published following the close of nominations at 4pm today (7 April).

The list of candidates is as follows:

·         Birchall, Loraine (Liberal Democrats)

·         McCall, Peter Joseph (Conservative Party)

·         Pye, Michael (UKIP)

·         Robinson, Mary (Independent)

·         Watson, Reg (Labour Party)

The full Statement of Persons Nominated for the PCC election is available to view at:

This is the second time PCC elections have been held, following the election of the county’s first elected Police and Crime Commissioner for Cumbria in November 2012.

The PCC’s role is to act as the public’s voice on how policing is carried out in Cumbria.

They will also be responsible for setting the force’s budget and deciding what its priorities and strategy should be.

Residents are also being encouraged to make sure they are on the Register of Electors so they can have their say in the PCC election and in the local elections that are also taking place on 5 May.

If you think you’re not registered, or if you have moved recently, the closing date for registering to vote in the May elections is Monday, 18 April 2016.

It is easy to register, just go online to

If anyone would like a postal vote, or wishes to change an existing postal or proxy vote, they must apply to their Electoral Registration Officer in their local authority area by 5pm on Tuesday, 19 April 2016.

Applications for new proxy votes must be received by 5pm on Tuesday, 26 April 2016. Applications for proxy votes because of a medical emergency or for work/service reasons, which have occurred after 5pm on 26 April can be accepted until 5pm on polling day.

All application forms can be obtained from the Electoral Registration Officer at the local authority where you are registered to vote. Completed forms must be submitted to the same Electoral Registration Officer by the relevant date.

The contact details of councils within the Cumbria Police Area are below:

  • Allerdale Borough Council - Electoral Registration Officer, Allerdale House, Workington CA14 3YJ
  • Barrow-in-Furness Borough Council - Electoral Registration Officer, Town Hall, Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2LD
  • Carlisle City Council - Electoral Registration Officer, Civic Centre, Carlisle CA3 8QG
  • Copeland Borough Council - Electoral Registration Officer, The Copeland Centre, Catherine Street, Whitehaven CA28 7SJ
  • Eden District Council – Electoral Registration Officer, Town Hall, Penrith CA11 7QF
  • South Lakeland District Council – Electoral Registration Officer, South Lakeland House, Lowther Street, Kendal LA9 4UQ

Editor’s note: This press release is issued on behalf of the Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) for the PCC elections. For more information, please contact the SLDC Communications Team on 01539 793301.

Carlisle City Council logo   Cumbria County Council

Copeland District Council logo   Eden District Council logo


Contact us

0303 123 1702

Allerdale Borough Council
Allerdale House, Workington, Cumbria,
CA14 3YJ