MPs and MEPs

Members of Parliament (MPs)

There are three Parliamentary Constituencies that make up the Allerdale Borough area, the Workington Constituency, Penrith & The Border Constituency (part of) and Copeland Constituency (part of).

The last Parliamentary Elections were held on 7 May 2015 and the elected MPs are as follows:

Further information about parliament and how it works can be found on the parliament website.

Members of European Parliament (MEPs)

The UK is divided into 12 regions and each region has between three and 10 MEPs. Each MEP in a region represents each person living there.  For example all eight of the MEPs in the North West Region represent the people of Allerdale.

We last had European Elections in May 2014 and the next are scheduled to take place in 2019.

The UK Office of the European Parliament Office website lists the MEP's in the North West region, and gives their contact details.

Downloadable Documents

All documents open in a new window.
File nameSizeApproximate Download time
Microsoft Word formatEuropean Elections North West in Word format28 Kb4 secs @ 56k, 0 secs @ 2mb
Adobe PDF format - download the viewerEuropean Elections North West in PDF format12 Kb2 secs @ 56k, 0 secs @ 2mb
Adobe PDF format - download the viewerCurrent MEP's in the North West Region in PDF format571 Kb1 min 22 secs @ 56k, 2 secs @ 2mb

Get Adobe Acrobat ReaderDownload Acrobat PDF Reader (external website). Acrobat PDF Reader allows you to view PDF files.

Get Microsoft Word ViewerDownload Microsoft Word Viewer (external website). Microsoft Word Viewer allows you to view Word documents even if you don't have Word installed on your computer.

Carlisle City Council logo   Cumbria County Council

Copeland District Council logo   Eden District Council logo


Contact us

0303 123 1702

Allerdale Borough Council
Allerdale House, Workington, Cumbria,
CA14 3YJ